clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

From walk-on to starter, work ethic of South Carolina's Perry Orth is unquestioned

Gamecocks' QB nominated for award that honors the nation's top walk-on.

Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

The Burlsworth Trophy has released its list of nominees for the award that honors the most outstanding player that began his or her career as a walk-on. The award, named for the bespectacled All-American and legendary Arkansas lineman, Brandon Burlsworth, is an award that may not be a familiar one to even the most seasoned college football fan, but it is an award that celebrates the unheralded heroes that embody the spirit of all that is collegiate athletics.

A couple of days ago, Perry Orth was nominated as one of the candidates. Following a semester at Florida State College, where Orth (now famously) spent many of his hours as a Publix employee, he took his shelf-stocking talents to Columbia and began a journey that started at the sixth-position on the Gamecocks' quarterback depth-chart. Despite walking on during what is the high-point of Carolina football to-date, Orth never backed down from the task of improving upon his skillset on the way to earning every second of his playing time, ultimately taking over the starting role following Connor Mitch's untimely early season injury.

What Orth lacks in raw football talent or a physical prowess, he obliterates with a ceaseless work-ethic and a reportedly unrivaled leadership quality; he may not be the most gifted athlete on the field, but his mindset and the supporting belief of his teammates has pushed him to levels that even the most optimistic Gamecock fan couldn't have seen before the start of the 2015-16 football season. The #ORTHQUAKE may just be in its initial tremor phase, but the rest of the CFB world is already taking notice.

Among those nominated for the award are Trevor Daniel, Tyler Hunt, Ryan Glasgow, C.J. Davidson, and Michael Nysewander.

The list of Burlsworth Trophy nominees features 55 players; those nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists later this season, and the winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in Springdale, Ark., on Dec. 7th.