clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pharoh Cooper named to Maxwell Award watch list

Cooper is listed among 80 players on the preseason list for the award given to the collegiate football player of the year.

Joshua S. Kelly-USA TODAY Sports

Let the preseason hype continue for @KingTutt_chdown. The South Carolina Gamecocks' junior wide receiver was named to the Maxwell Award preseason watch list this morning, his second preseason watch list nomination in as many days.

The Maxwell Award is one of college football's more prestigious annual awards and honors the FBS collegiate player of the year with a trophy named after the Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, a former player, official and sportswriter. 2015 marks the 79th anniversary for an award that came around in 1937.

And I wasn't joking when I threw the word prestigious out there. Recent winners of the Maxwell include a slew of former Heisman Trophy winners such as Marcus Mariota, Jameis Winston, Andrew Luck, Cam Newton, Tim Tebow and Ricky Williamsjust to name a few.

Some other notable SEC studs listed on this year's list include Georgia's Nick Chubb, LSU's Leonard Fournette, Ole Miss' Laquan Treadwell and Texas A&M's Kyle Allen.

But let's be real, they ain't got nothin' on Pharoh.

Check out the complete preseason Maxwell Award watch list here.