clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

South Carolina Gamecocks vs. Mississippi State Bulldogs: SEC Women's Basketball Tournament Preview, How to Watch and Live Thread

The Gamecocks are looking for their second consecutive tournament championship

Logan Bowles-USA TODAY Sports

Yesterday the Gamecocks whipped the Kentucky Wildcats 93-63 to advance to the SEC Women's Basketball Tournament Championship Game for the second season in a row. South Carolina will face the 25-6 Bulldogs for the tournament title this afternoon.

(1) South Carolina Gamecocks vs. (3) Mississippi State Bulldogs

When: 2:30 p.m.

Where: Veterans Memorial Arena (Jacksonville, Florida)

How to Watch: ESPN

How to Listen: 98.5 WOMG

Three-Point Preview

1. The Gamecocks will be looking to build on a fantastic performance against Kentucky in the semifinals yesterday. Five Gamecocks (Mitchell, Wilson, Cuevas, Coates, and Sessions) scored double digits. The Gamecocks shot their highest single-quarter percentage of the season (84.6) in the fourth quarter against Kentucky. After a bad performance against Auburn in the tournament quarterfinal, it was good to see the team step up and have such a strong performance against a good opponent. The Gamecocks will need to sustain that high level of play both in today's championship game and in the NCAA tournament.

2. The Gamecocks and the Bulldogs met earlier this season in Starkville and South Carolina pulled off a narrow 57-51 victory. That win in January gave the Gamecocks their seventh win in a row over the Bulldogs, evening the all-time series between the teams to 16-16. This is the third time that Carolina and MSU have met in the SEC tournament and the Bulldogs won both of the previous meetings.

3. The Gamecocks are chasing several rare accomplishments this afternoon. Winning today would make the Gamecocks the fourth team to have both a perfect regular season and perfect tournament record. In addition, the SEC has only had back-to-back tournament champions seven times. And only two teams have ever won the regular-season and tournament championships in back-to-back seasons.