clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 South Carolina Gamecocks Baseball Schedule Released

The Gamecocks will host 36 home games in Founders Park this season

The Gamecocks open the 2017 baseball season on Friday, February 17th when they host the UNCG Spartans at Founders Park. South Carolina will remain at home through the rest of February before going on the road to Clemson on March 3rd. The second game of the Carolina-Clemson series will be at Fluor Field in Greenville on March 4th, followed by the series finale in Columbia on Sunday March 5th.

Other notable non-conference opponents this year include Wright State, Michigan State, and Kansas State. The Gamecocks will also play UNC in Charlotte for the second consecutive year. Though the Gamecocks have several SC schools on their schedule, including home-and-home series with both Furman and the Citadel, they will not face the defending national champion, Coastal Carolina.

The Gamecocks will open conference play on the road at Tennessee March 17-19. They will also travel to Auburn, Florida, LSU, and Missouri. The Gamecocks will host Alabama, Vanderbilt, Mississippi State, Kentucky and Georgia in Founders Park.

The Gamecocks have 6 series against teams that made the NCAA Tournament last year. Carolina hosts the first of these teams, Wright State, on the second weekend of the season. Clemson is the other non-conference team on the schedule that participated in the last year’s postseason.

The Gamecocks will face 4 conference opponents that made last year’s postseason over a five week stretch in April and May. The Gamecocks have home series against Vanderbilt (eliminated in Regionals) and Mississippi State (eliminated in Super Regionals), then a series at Florida (eliminated in Omaha). The Gamecocks will return home to host Kentucky before going on the road again to face LSU (eliminated in Super Regionals). That will be a tough stretch of games for Carolina, as all of those teams are annual contenders in the SEC, but the Gamecocks are fortunate to at least get two of the four 2016 NCAA Tournament teams at home.

The TV schedule has not yet been released, but all SEC games, as well as every South Carolina home game, should be available online on the SEC Network. Information about each of South Carolina’s 2017 opponents can be found here, and the full schedule is below.

Date Opponent
February 17-19 UNC Greensboro
February 21 Charlotte
February 23 Kansas State
February 24-26 Wright State
February 28 Appalachian State
March 3-5 at Clemson, vs Clemson (Greenville), vs Clemson (Columbia)
March 7 The Citadel
March 8 Winthrop
March 10-12 Michigan State
March 14 at Furman
March 17-19 at Tennessee
March 22 Charleston Southern
March 24-26 Alabama
March 28 at The Citadel
March 31-April 2 at Auburn
April 4 Furman
April 6-8 Vanderbilt
April 11 UNC (in Charlotte)
April 14-16 Mississippi State
April 18 Davidson
April 20-22
at Florida
April 28-30 Kentucky
May 3 Wofford
May 5-7 at LSU
May 9 Presbyterian College
May 12-14 at Missouri
May 16 USC Upstate
May 18-20 Georgia
May 23-28 SEC Tournament
June 2-5 NCAA Regionals
June 9-12 NCAA Super Regionals
June 17-28 NCAA CWS