clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

South Carolina Gamecocks Selected As Regional Host, Full NCAA Tournament Field Will Be Announced On Monday's Selection Show

There will be postseason baseball in Founders Park this weekend!


The 16 hosts for the Regional round of the NCAA Tournament were announced tonight. The host schools are: LSU (Baton Rouge, Louisiana); Virginia (Charlottesville, Virginia); Clemson (Clemson, South Carolina); Texas A&M (College Station, Texas); South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina); Miami (Coral Gables, Florida); TCU (Fort Worth, Texas); Florida (Gainesville, Florida); Louisiana-Lafayette (Lafayette, Louisiana); Louisville (Louisville, Kentucky); Texas Tech (Lubbock, Texas); Vanderbilt (Nashville, Tennessee); Ole Miss (Oxford, Mississippi); NC State (Raleigh, North Carolina); Mississippi State (Starkville, Mississippi); and Florida State (Tallahassee).

This is the 17th time in school history that the Gamecocks have been selected as a Regional host. South Carolina will host the first round of the tournament at Founders Park this upcoming weekend from Friday, June 3rd, until Monday, June 6th. South Carolina returns as a regional host after being completely absent from the field last season. In their last NCAA appearance, 2014, despite being a host, they fell to the loser's bracket and were eliminated in the regional final by Maryland.

The full NCAA Tournament field will be released Monday. The Gamecocks will learn what other teams are coming to Columbia for the Regional, whether or not they are a national seed, and which Regional they are paired up with for the next round of the tournament.

Watch the NCAA Selection Show

When: 12 p.m.


Online: WatchESPN