clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

South Carolina football releases 2016 preseason practice schedule

New, 3 comments

The team reports on August 1.

NCAA Football: South Carolina at Missouri Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

With kickoff against Vanderbilt just 48 days away, the South Carolina Gamecocks announced details of its 2016 preseason camp, the first under new head coach Will Muschamp.

The team will report to camp on Monday, August 1. The first practice will be the next day, starting at 8:15. Three practices - from the 15th to the 17th - will be open to the public and begin at 6:30. Traditionally throughout the Spurrier era, the first week of practices had been open for anyone to attend; however, all practices were closed to both the media and the public starting with the 2015 season as Spurrier met with media members after each session.

Also of note: several two-a-day practices. Spurrier traditionally didn’t hold two-a-days during his time at South Carolina, so it’s another sign of a new way of doing things at the top of the football program.

The full schedule is below. We’ll pass along any changes as they become available.

Tuesday, August 2 - Saturday, August 6 - 8:15 a.m. (August 4 - split squad)

Sunday, August 7 - 9:45 a.m.; 6:30 p.m.

Monday, August 8 - 2:45 p.m.

Tuesday, August 9 - 9:45 am.; 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, August 10 and Thursday, August 11 - 2:45 p.m.

Saturday, August 13 - 9:15 a.m.

Sunday, August 14 - 9:45 a.m.; 6:30 p.m.

Monday, August 15 - Wednesday, August 17 - 6:30 p.m. (open)

Friday, August 19 - 9 a.m.

Saturday, August 20 - 8 p.m. scrimmage

Sunday, August 21 - Fan Appreciation Day, 2:30-4 (location TBA)

Monday, August 22 and Tuesday, August 23 - 9 a.m.

Thursday, August 25 - Friday, August 26 - 9 a.m.

Saturday, August 27 - 11 a.m.

Sunday, August 28 - 4 p.m.

Monday, August 29 - 9 a.m.; Muschamp game week press conference at 1 p.m.

Tuesday, August 30 - 10 a.m.

Wednesday, August 31 - 10:20 a.m.